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Department of Taxation and Finance

Individual Purchaser’s Annual Report of Sales and Use Tax ST-140
You may use this form if you are an individual, estate, or trust that owes sales or use tax for calendar year 2019. You must use this form if you have 
already filed your New York State personal income tax return for 2019 and you need to report sales or use tax that was not reported on your personal 
income tax return. Do not use this form if you are required to register for sales tax purposes with the New York State Tax Department or if you are 
reporting the purchase of a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel, or snowmobile that must be registered or titled by the New York State 
Department of Motor Vehicles. See Form ST-140-I (2019), Instructions for Form ST-140, for more information.

Purchaser’s name 	 Social Security number

Purchaser’s address (number and street or rural route)	 Employer identification number (if any)

City	 County	 State	 ZIP code

For office use only

Tax jurisdiction code

Location code

Taxable sales

Sales and use tax

Type or print clearly

Complete the Computation of total sales or use tax due section below. Form ST-140 offers individuals two ways to compute their sales and use taxes for 
nonbusiness-related purchases of items or services costing less than $1,000 each, excluding shipping and handling. For these purchases, individuals may 
elect to use Worksheet 1 on page 2 or the Sales and use tax chart below to determine the tax due. See Example below. You must compute your tax due on 
nonbusiness-related items costing $1,000 or more, and for any business-related purchases, using Worksheets 2 and 3 on page 3.

	 1	 Tax due on nonbusiness‑related items or services costing less than $1,000 each, excluding shipping and  
		    handling (Enter your tax due on all nonbusiness‑related purchases where the price of each item or service was  
		    under $1,000. You may enter the amount from line 3 of Worksheet 1, on page 2 or you may elect to determine the  
		    amount by using the Sales and use tax chart below.) ................................................................................................	 1
	 2	 Tax due on nonbusiness‑related items or services costing $1,000 or more each (from line 1 of Worksheet 2  
		    on page 3) ...........................................................................................................................................................	 2
	 3	 Tax due on business‑related purchases – federal schedules C, and F or E (Part I) (from line 3 of Worksheet 3 
		    on page 3) ...........................................................................................................................................................	 3
	 4	 Total sales or use tax due (add lines 1, 2, and 3) .....................................................................................................	 4
	 5	 Penalty and interest if you are filing or paying late (see instructions) ......................................................................	 5
	 6	 Total amount due (add lines 4 and 5).  .....................................................................................................................	 6
	 7	 Amount paid (enter your payment amount; this amount should match the amount due on line 6).....................................	 7

Computation of total sales or use tax due

Sales and use tax chart
(for line 1 computation only)

If your federal adjusted gross	
income for 2019 is:	 Tax amount
up to $15,000*............................................................ 	 $5
$15,001 - $30,000...................................................... 	 $10
$30,001 - $50,000...................................................... 	 $16
$50,001 - $75,000...................................................... 	 $25
$75,001 - $100,000.................................................... 	 $33
$100,001 - $150,000.................................................. 	 $43
$150,001 - $200,000.................................................. 	 $58
$200,001 and greater................................................. 	 .0295% (.000295)
	 of income, or $125,
	 whichever amount is smaller
* This may be any amount up to $15,000, including 0 or a negative amount.

If you maintained a permanent place of abode in New York State 
for sales and use tax purposes for only part of the year, multiply 
the tax amount from the chart (based on your total federal adjusted 
gross income for 2019) by the number of months you maintained the 
permanent place of abode in New York State and divide the result 
by 12. (Count any period you maintained the abode for more than 
one-half month as one month. Do not count a period of one-half 
month or less.) Enter that amount on line 1.

Example: You live in Monroe County in New York State.

Over the course of the year, you purchased several items for less than 
$1,000 each (excluding shipping and handling) over the Internet and by 
catalog. You know that you did not pay any tax on the items purchased. 
You may elect to use the Sales and use tax chart to determine the tax 
due on these purchases. 
Also, on August 15, 2019, you received a computer that you ordered 
from a retailer located in Michigan for $1,500 including the retailer’s 
$100 charge for shipping and handling. The Michigan retailer did not 
collect any New York or Michigan sales or use tax.
Your federal adjusted gross income for the year is $53,400. You 
determine the amount of tax due as follows:

For line 1 of the Computation of total sales or use tax due, you elect 
to use the Sales and use tax chart and select the amount based on 
your federal AGI of $53,400. Enter this amount on line 1 of the  
Computation of total sales or use tax due.....................................	  $25.00

For line 2 of the Computation of total sales or use tax due, you use 
Worksheet 2 to calculate your tax liability on the computer purchase.
$1,500 × 8% (state and local combined rate in Monroe County from
Form ST-140-I, Instructions for Form ST-140, Chart 1). Enter this  
amount on line 2 of the Computation of total sales or use  
tax due...........................................................................................	120.00

Total sales or use tax due .............................................................	$145.00

	Description of item(s) or service(s) purchased: 
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Part 2 – All other taxable items and services
List all other taxable items or services, including clothing and footwear each costing $110 or more on which no New York State or local tax was 
collected from you at the time of purchase, or on which you owe additional local tax (see instructions). Attach additional sheets if necessary. 
Note: Any unpaid sales or use tax on a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel, or snowmobile that must be registered or titled by the 
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles is collected at the time of registration. Therefore, do not report or pay the sales or use tax on 
these items on this form.

	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E
	 Purchase price	 Combined state	 Tax	 Tax paid to another	 Tax due
	 (see instructions)	 and local rate	 (column A × column B)	 taxing jurisdiction, if any	 (column C - column D;
		  (from Chart 1; 		  (see instructions)	 do not enter less than zero)
		  see instructions)	 	

	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E
	 Purchase price	 Your sales and	 Tax	 Tax paid to another	 Tax due
	 (see instructions)	 use tax rate	 (column A × column B)	 taxing jurisdiction, if any	 (column C - column D;
		  (from Chart 2; 		  (see instructions)	 do not enter less than zero)
		  see instructions)		

	 2	 Total (add the Part 2, column E amounts; do not enter less than zero)  ........................................................................	 2
	 3	 Add lines 1 and 2; transfer this amount to the Computation of total sales or use tax due
		    section, line 1 on page 1 of this form...................................................................................................................	 3

	 1	 Total (add the Part 1, column E amounts; do not enter less than zero)  ....................................................................	 1

Worksheet 1 – Exact calculation of tax due for nonbusiness‑related purchases during 2019 costing less 
than $1,000 each

Use this worksheet for nonbusiness‑related purchases where the item or service cost less than $1,000 each, excluding shipping and handling. 
However, the shipping and handling charges must be included in column A of Part 1 and Part 2 when computing your tax due.

Part 1 – Purchases of clothing and footwear eligible for exemption
Clothing and footwear purchases under $110 per item or pair, excluding shipping and handling, are exempt from the 4% state sales tax, the 3/8% 
MCTD tax (in those localities that provide the less-than-$110 exemption), and some local taxes.

Chart 2 in the instructions lists the appropriate tax rate to enter for your locality in column B below. If your purchases qualify for both the state and 
local exemption, the rate will be 0. In this case, do not complete Part 1.

Report purchases of clothing and footwear costing $110 or more, and purchases of other taxable items or services, in Part 2 below.

(continued)
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Worksheet 3 – Business-related purchases – Federal schedules (federal Schedules C, and Schedule F 
taxable business purchases or federal Schedule E (Part I) taxable royalty or rental real estate 
activity‑related purchases during 2019)

	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E
	 Purchase price	 Your sales and	 Tax	 Tax paid to another	 Tax due
	 (see instructions)	 use tax rate 	 (column A × column B)	 taxing jurisdiction, if any	 (column C - column D;
		  (from Chart 2;  		  (see instructions)	 do not enter less than zero)
		  see instructions)

	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E
	 Purchase price	 Combined state	 Tax	 Tax paid to another	 Tax due
	 (see instructions)	 and local rate 	 (column A × column B)	 taxing jurisdiction, if any	 (column C - column D;
		  (from Chart 1;  		  (see instructions)	 do not enter less than zero)
		  see instructions)

	 1	 Total (add the Part 1, column E amounts; do not enter less than zero)  ....................................................................	 1

Worksheet 2 – Nonbusiness‑related purchases during 2019 each costing $1,000 or more

Use this worksheet for nonbusiness‑related purchases where the item or service cost $1,000 or more each, excluding shipping and handling. 
Attach additional sheets if necessary. If any item or service cost $25,000 or more each, excluding shipping and handling, you must also complete 
Form IT‑135, Sales and Use Tax Report for Purchases of Items and Services Costing $25,000 or More, and attach it to this form. When computing 
your tax due, you must include the shipping and handling charges in Column A.
Note: Any unpaid sales or use tax on a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel or snowmobile that must be registered or titled by the New York 
State Department of Motor Vehicles is collected at the time of registration. Therefore, do not report or pay the sales or use tax on these items on this form.

	 1	 Total (add the column E amounts; do not enter less than zero; transfer this amount to the Computation of total  
		    sales or use tax due section, line 2 on page 1 of this form)  ......................................................................................	 1

Part 1 – Purchases of clothing and footwear eligible for exemption 
Clothing and footwear purchases under $110 per item or pair, excluding shipping and handling, are exempt from the 4% state sales tax, the 3/8% 
MCTD tax (in those localities that provide the less-than-$110 exemption), and some local taxes.
Chart 2 in the instructions lists the appropriate tax rate to enter for your locality in column B below. If your purchases qualify for both the state and 
local exemption, the rate will be 0. In this case, do not complete Part 1.
Report purchases of clothing and footwear costing $110 or more, and purchases of other taxable items or services, in Part 2 below.

Part 2 – All other taxable items and services
List all other taxable items or services, including taxable clothing and footwear each costing $110 or more on which no New York State or local tax 
was collected from you at the time of purchase, or on which you owe additional local tax (see instructions). Shipping and handling charges must be 
included in column A when computing your tax due. Attach additional sheets if necessary. If any item or service purchased cost $25,000 or more each, 
excluding shipping and handling, you must also complete Form IT‑135 and attach it to this form.
Note: Any unpaid sales or use tax on a motor vehicle, trailer, all‑terrain vehicle, vessel, or snowmobile that must be registered or titled by the 
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles is collected at the time of registration. Therefore, do not report or pay the sales or use tax on these 
items on this form.

	 2	 Total (add the Part 2, column E amounts; do not enter less than zero)  ........................................................................	 2
	 3	 Add lines 1 and 2; transfer this amount to the Computation of total sales or use tax due section, line 3
 		    on page 1 of this form..........................................................................................................................................	 3

	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E
	 Purchase price	 Combined state	 Tax	 Tax paid to another	 Tax due
	 (see instructions)	 and local rate	 (column A × column B)	 taxing jurisdiction, if any	 (column C - column D;
		  (from Chart 1;  		  (see instructions)	 do not enter less than zero)
		  see instructions)
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Purchaser’s signature	 Date	 Telephone number for purchaser

			   (	 )
Printed name of preparer (if other than purchaser) 		  Preparer’s PTIN

Preparer’s address 		  Preparer’s NYTPRIN	 Excl. code

Preparer’s signature (if other than purchaser)		  Preparer’s telephone number

				    (                 )

Certification: I certify that the above statements are true and correct, and I make these statements with the knowledge that willfully issuing a false 
or fraudulent document with the intent to evade tax may constitute a felony under New York State Tax Law, punishable by a substantial fine and a 
possible jail sentence. I also understand that the Tax Department is authorized to investigate the validity or the accuracy of any information entered on 
this document.

	 / 	  /


